December 19, 2007
Charles Lindbergh, Time magazine’s first Man of the Year. (Newseum collection)

Charles Lindbergh, Time magazine’s first Man of the Year. (Newseum collection)

80 Years Ago in News History: A Timely Tradition Begins

In 1927, a young pilot named Charles Lindbergh catapulted to international fame when he became the first person to fly solo across the Atlantic Ocean. Later that year, another historic first took place when Time magazine dubbed Lindbergh "Man of the Year," starting one of the most famous traditions in American journalism.

Each year, the editors of Time select the person or people who, in their judgment, most affected the news over the past 12 months. The magazine's 2007 "Person of the Year" is Russian president Vladimir Putin, for turning his country into a renewed political force.

The annual tradition began almost by chance. In late December 1927, when the magazine's editors faced a slow news week and could not decide on a cover subject for the first issue of the new year, someone suggested that they make up for an oversight earlier in the year, when they had neglected to put Lindbergh on the cover after he completed his solo flight across the Atlantic in May.

The idea became a hit. Over the years, selections have included the famous and infamous — presidents and dictators, statesmen and scientists, civic leaders and innovators. But after 80 years, Lindbergh, who was 25 when he became the first Man of the Year, remains the youngest person to receive the distinction.

President Franklin D. Roosevelt is the only three-time Man of the Year. Three women received the honor as individuals, most recently Corazon Aquino in 1986, and China's Madame Chiang Kai-shek was named with her husband in 1937. In the 21st century, four more women have been added to the ranks — three women known collectively as "The Whistleblowers" were named the 2002 Persons of the Year, and Melinda Gates shared the title in 2005 with her husband, Microsoft co-founder Bill Gates, and Irish musician Bono.

The year's biggest newsmaker is not always a single individual or even a human. Time has named groups of people, including Hungarian freedom fighters (1956) and American women (1975), as well as the computer (Machine of the Year in 1982) and Earth itself (1988's Planet of the Year). Perhaps the most unusual recipient came in 2006, when the magazine featured a mirror-like piece of reflective Mylar on the cover and named "You" as Person of the Year.

Time, the first modern newsmagazine, was founded in 1923 by journalists Henry R. Luce and Briton Hadden. The first Man of the Year issue will be displayed in the Newseum's News Corporation News History Gallery, along with Time's inaugural issue and other first-edition magazines from Luce's Time Inc. publications empire.

    • Tickets to DC's Top Attractions
    • Washington News Museum Annual Pass
    • Today's Front Pages
    • Shop Online
  • Support the Newseum
  • Places to Visit in Washington, DC near the National Mall
  • Press Info
  • General Info
Related Links:
  • Freedom Forum


See what others say about Newseum on TripAdvisor.